Shut Up & Rex - (verb) to refrain from speaking and participate in recreational activities. also (verb) to refrain from speaking and get wrecked and/or maggot!I'll have you all know, that this anonymous phrase we picked up on the side of some ridiculous(ly awesome) shirt has really summed up the summer so far. Since being back at Panorama it's a completely different vibe from the winter. Completely fun like the winter, don't get me wrong; but just totally out of hand. Getting drunk a lot more, throwing things, food fights, spraying beer and champagne all around the apartment etc etc. That is not to say we've JUST been getting drunk the whole time, the recreational part also comes into it. The World Cup was massive so a lot of school yard football (soccer) sessions, tennis, golf, hikes, downhill mountain bike riding...the whole bunch.
The summer really kicked into gear with the invention of "Club Old Mate's" and our first three parties; Jon's birthday, the Penny Crayon Party and the Tea Party. They all went off a treat thanks to yours truly and my brilliant organisational skills. Jon's Birthday however started off
with some anger because the England team had their first World Cup game and they played like a bag of dicks; probably the reason why Little Jon passed out before making it to the bar and coincidentally won the first ever "Sam Reindler Memorial Mint Cunt Award for High Achievement in the field of Getting Maggot". We started drinking at about midday when the game started and really just couldn't stop with beer game golf to follow. We played an intense game that involved pretty much finishing the rest of our drinks to the rhythm of the putt (whatever that means) and just partied the night away. I'll be honest, I can't really remember much until later on that night when we all got home and I copped alot from Jose after I got what he called "refused" because of the late appearance of J.D.L.
The Penny Crayon and Tea Pot parties were actually the first official Club Old Mate's parties and gave us a fair bit of street rep around staff accomm. Brenny Tuck actually told me when we were chatting that apparently I am the one to come to about anything happening on the resort if you want to know about the sick parties; Van Wilder eat your heart out, yeah? But back to the parties; which also was basically the beginning of my embarrassing try hard cockney accent as soon as I have a few drinks. Penny Crayon was my room mate Joey's birthday and we basically chucked on some cheap white clothing from the thrift store and drew on each other. I think you'll be able to imagine with a bunch of immature twenty somethings there was an abundance of penises drawn about the place.
We got some great videos out of this party though, as Jackie challenged me to stay up till 6am with her and we ended up having a pretty narly time taking advantage of Jon's drunken state playing timeless classics such as "Where's Jon?" and "Push Jon into Doors", and of course fighting each other waking up with crazy bruises and wondering why my elbow felt out of place when I woke up. One of the funniest things the next morning was finding Jon's bike in the shower and when he was shouting "Why the hell is my bike in the shower, who the hell put it there?", we were looking through Jose's photos to find a picture of him putting it in there the night before and giving us a thumbs up.
Now the Tea Pot party we should have seen coming. By setting the standard from our last two parties as, Club Old Mate's: Please come and fuck up our apartment, we received a huge reception of spilt (more like thrown) alcohol, smashed porcelain, ripped out cupboards and of course a plethora of objects thrown from the window. But hey, as much as it sucked to clean up the next day, man was it an epic party. Everyone dressed as cockney gentleman and elegant ladies and drank from teapots, what a theme. Alana Jackson was the MC winner for that night and won it fair and square, not just because it was her and Finny's birthdays. I didn't get amazing amounts of video from this night so it is still a little hazy, but I do know we ended up having a stairwell jam session with Jon looking like Chuck Lidell from UFC yelling "It is oooooon".I mean, as much as these parties have set the precedent for great nights out in Summer at Panorama, we have had some pretty narly nights out and more great ones to come. We had our fight night cut out by Adam Hopper (who has prematurely had a landslide victory to win the Buzz Killington Award for Biggest Buzzkill in the Summer) which was actually set to take over the other parties as biggest and best for the summer. You can't always get what you want though right? Anyways, there is only a month to go for the season to end and I think I'll just end this post bluntly by saying that with all the great times and great friends I've made I'm not exactly looking forward to it.




