So to start (sort of), the day is Thursday, March 18th and I've just come off the end of my 10 hour shift in the virtual paradise we call the housekeeping department. Like I said, we've got a lot to discuss about happenings in the last week and a half. But the first question needs to be answered...how did he afford all these happenings earning $10 an hour? selling himself? ...sadly close.
Last Tuesday night I'm home in my pyjama's at 10pm (trying to save money of course...I'm not lame) and I get a call from one of my close friends Alex at the resort's ritzy restaurant, "Wildfire", telling me there was 4 rich guests having dinner, tipping lots and asking if he could get anyone to come down to the restaurant and play guitar and sing live for a few hours, paying $200 up front, with an extra $100 if they're good. So of course I ripped out of my PJ's and into game gear and sprinted up with my guitar to the Wildfire; and...well you all know I'm good so of course I got the whole $300 (haha...but seriously). So anyways these four cowboys from Calgary ended up being funny older boys, shouting drinks for all my friends that came up to the bar when they heard I was playing, bringing their total bar tab to $1200; more money than sense if you ask me but hey, I had a great time and it provided funding for what was to come. The biggest hit of the night was when I played "Cool Guy's Don't Look At Explosions".
So two days later we road tripped to Calgary for our first experience at an NHL Ice Hockey game (Canadian's would kill me if they saw I called it "Ice" Hockey...apparently there is no other sort of hockey). The road trip was like any other road trip as you can see in the video I've posted, displaying to you all what boredom in a car can do to a man. But after three hours in a car we arrived in Calgary and after a lengthy search, we found the spot where we met the guy scalping the tickets to us in the parking lot of a famous burger joint called "Peter's Drive In". I think it's safe to say that I should never aspire to being a succesful drug dealer; pulling out my money and counting it on the car bonnet before handing it over so obviously and fumbling all the way.
We took a tour around the city of Calgary which I hadn't visited yet. I was surprised that it actually looked like a city; I'd been there before to fly out to Vancouver and I only saw the hick residential area and immediately thought the place didn't have much to offer. This second visit opened my eyes (only a little) seeing it was actually a big city that had quite a fun night life. We got to the stadium and switched on our video camera filming the crowds coming into the game two hours early. Although it's too big and long to put into the blog I'd like to mention a funny section including a black scalper, selling his own rap demo's, that suddenly got blacker as soon as he realised he was on camera. E.g "Oh hey guys you want tickets for the ga...yo baby chain reaction you know me yo, get my new record, cutting sick rhymes and dope beats yo know me, bam". We went to a casino for dinner and got some of the wickedest cheap food; it was weird being in a North American Casino as it just looked like a cheap bowling club yet all the Canadian's thought all this gambling biz was real special and crazy.
Now we get to the narly part. The game itself was amazing, like no other sporting event I've ever seen. It was like a rock show but for athletes. After sitting in the sold out Pendlegrowth Saddledome, the home stadium of the Calgary Flames, it comes over the speakers that the lights will go off in 5 minutes. I'm thinking, "It's a game of hockey, how are they going to play with the lights off?". Then they go off and some hardcore pump up rock music starts playing with these strobe flames logos flood the ice as the referees get their own welcome like the start of a fricken 80's glam rock band concert. I was stunned from the get go and can now understand why every game sells out and why tickets cost like $50+ for any seat. We sat next to these funny Canadian guys who joined when we all had a bit to drink and started imitating family guy during the game. What sort of family guy you say? Well when the beer vender walked through the isles shouting if anyone wanted beer I yelled "Buttscratcher"...and then the guy next to me yells "Buttscratcher" and then the beer vender turns to look at us and laughs and heartily yells to the crowd "Buttscratcher, Get your Buttscratcher" ..followed by one guy up the back with a faded "Buttscratcher!". Well after a few beers we started to get well into the game cheering when the flames scored and eventually won the game 2-0 against the Ottawa Senators (even though we are all Vancouver Canucks supporters).
Following the game, the question was posed whether to go home now (for work the next morning at 8am) or to stay in Calgary for a little bit and at least go out for one or two drinks at a club. I think the picture to your left will give you a hint as to our decision. After grabbing some quick food we went out to a club called "The Roadhouse" and had a beer and a dance. Great times were had but there were way too many "party hot" girls there. You know the type that look great all done up out on the town and in the darkness of the club but you wouldn't want to wake up next to. Lucky ol' Jesse is a little smarter than to fall victim to these creatures of the night and had no intention of straying from his own space on the D-floor. Although it was a bit of a dive bar, it was great to be back in a real city, in a real club with a different crowd then the same staff I see every day at work, home and at the bar...although those guys fricken rule. Let me rephrase that...good to be around them + some different faces.
We decided to leave the club around 1:30am and start the 3 hour drive home. After stopping for free coffee at a 24 hour macca's it was my turn for first shift driving. I drove the first 1:30 hours of the trip fuelled on coffee and the "Muscles" CD before stopping at Banff for Alex to take over. Apparently after I fell asleep in the car the 3 hour trip turned into a 4 and a half hour trip because it puked snow (for the first time in agges!!) all the way from Lake Louise to Radium, getting us home at a timely 6:30am...ready to wake up at 7am to get ready for work...Yeah, I called in sick.
The next few days following it snowed a little bit all over the Kootenay Rockies (the area I live in) so we decided to take advantage of the best snow and go to Kicking Horse mountain in Golden where it got a whopping 55cm of snow in the 7 days prior. I have to say I think it was the best snow I've been in since coming to Canada and I had one of the best rides of my life tracking through untouched powder while the crystals in it sparkled around my feet. Poetic? Maybe; but trust me, it deserves some degree of literary elegance, if you saw and rode it you would know too. I'm also proud to say that I rode double black diamond runs all day long and to be honest, I don't know why I've been staying away all season because they suddenly seem really easy, but that's what most of the lifties said right before they broke arms and legs. So I think I'll stay on my guard. After a tiring day we relaxed with a few beers in the back seat of Martha's truck...It was "cosy" to say the least. Chaud bro...Chaud. We took it easy over the next few days and had a great little fire outside of staff accomodation to end my three days off. It was great to get everyone out and just chill and chat around the fire where we also cooked our dinner. I think it's going to become a regular thing because it was so easy and enjoyable.
I didn't want to do this, but I felt it necessary to end on a sore note. There has, as some have already heard around the world, a little bit of trouble running at Panorama Mountain Village. In the last two weeks there has been three arrests within the Downhill Rider's Groups that bring their party buses into the resort. Two have been alchohol related, but the other one I had a personal encounter with on Saturday night. As Brad, Alex, Alana and I were walking home from the bar after a pretty sweet night we see up through the window in one of the rooms a biggish guy yelling and throwing a lamp and other objects in the room and at the window. Straight away we called security of course and thought "it's not our problem security can deal with it". But then this other girl comes out of the flat below his and yells for us to call security because the guy is forcing himself onto her cousin up in the room above and won't let her go. We we're all pretty sickened by this thought because the guy was an absolute thug. We yelled for the guy to stop and distracted him enough at the top for him to get off the girl until security came and dealt with the situation. But the kicker comes that after he was detained it was discover her had a prior warrant out for his arrest in Alberta and was given over to the police in Inveremere. As lucky as it was for us to see him in the window I hate to think of what would have happened if we hadn't walked past at that moment.
On a happier and much more exciting note of things to come. My room mate Dim and I have decided to blow off Vegas for now (as I am road tripping there in a van as well as the west coast of USA with Brad and Alex in September) and we've decided instead to go to Bamboozle Music Festival in New Jersey, only 30 minutes train ride from New York City. So I think the plan for end of season here at Pano is straight to NYC for some festivities before back to reality (or holiday reality) in Vancouver to start a new job, new apartment and basically live a new life. It's all quite exciting I think you'd agree...
Nope? Just me?..Fair Enough.







